Almost Done! (Day 149)


After nearly 150 days, I can say that I am almost done with Accutane!  My dermatologist appointment is on January 11th, so after that I won’t need to take the pills every night, or worry about the side effects as much.  Accutane stays in your system for up to a month after the treatment ends, so I should see a gradual reduction in side effects as I stop taking the medication.  Here are some pictures from this morning, I never realized how much my skin has improved until I looked at the before pictures.

2 Responses to “Almost Done! (Day 149)”


  1. 1 Mandy January 3, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Hi Alex,

    I just wanted to tell you congratulations with your progress on accutane! Your pictures have been a great catalogue of your skin’s improvement, and you look so much happier, too.

    I’m 24 years old and I have taken Accutane twice. The experience was different every time… My first course of Accutane was, like you, during my senior year of high school. I was on the cross country team and I played soccer, but I don’t recall experiencing side effects in the way of muscle aches or soreness, at least nothing out of the ordinary for being so active. Although depression can affect about 1% of those taking Accutane, I actually felt much happier because of the boost of confidence as my skin improved.

    Unfortunately, two years after my first course, my acne returned x 10, and I tried Accutane again. This time around I did experience a bit of depression, so I decided to halt treatment until things stabilized in my life…

    So, fast forward to now: my skin was actually doing pretty good until the last 6 months or so. But, over time, my skin has returned to its moody self… So, tomorrow I have an appointment with the derm to discuss Accutane one last time.

    Although Accutane didn’t “cure” me, I have had good results with it in the past, and hopefully the results from this final course will be permanent. Your blog has given me hope that I will one day be able to look at my skin in the mirror and like what I see.

    Thank you,
    Mandy

    • 2 the accutane adventure January 6, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      Thank you very much for your comments, your encouragement is greatly appreciated. I’m glad to hear that my blog has given you hope for the future, and wish you the best of luck on your final course of treatment :).


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to stuff:

Archive

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

