Day 13: The Pros and Cons of Sun Exposure


Today was a beautiful day outside, nice and sunny, not as hot as it has been, but still really, really nice.  So, I went to Portsmouth, NH with my family, and we went kayaking.  Sounds great, right? Well, it was, but the sun wasn’t so great.  I applied my normal 30SPF sunblock on my body and my Aveeno 70SPF face sunblock as usual, before we went outside.  I also applied lots of lip balm, and brought it with me (the only thing I brought on the boat ;)).  Most of the kayaking was great, but near the end, I felt this burning pain on my face and on my body that wouldn’t go away. It felt like I was getting a sunburn before my eyes, I could feel the heat from the sun.  Also, to make matters worse, I didn’t bring my sunglasses out of fear that my month-old RayBan aviators would find their demise in the ocean.  So, along with my skin crisping up, my eyes were almost shut, and my face was incredibly dry.  When we reached the shore, I ran to the car, put my sunglasses on, sat down, and then changed my clothes.  Upon later inspection, I didn’t really burn badly at all, it just felt like I was burning.  But, like I felt, my face was so so so dry.

Overall, it was a nice day.  Next time, though, I might take a bit shorter of a trip on the water, because my skin is definitely affected by Accutane.

0 Responses to “Day 13: The Pros and Cons of Sun Exposure”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to stuff:

Archive

August 2009
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

