Archive for August 6th, 2009

The Adventure Begins

I went to CVS today and got my first 30 day supply of Accutane!  I’m going to take my first 40mg pill when I get a call from the doctor’s that my blood tests are all set and then begin The Accutane Adventure.  I’ll upload a new set of pictures every week, hopefully every Thursday afternoon/night.  The quality of my skin may deteriorate at first,  but after continued use, I’ll be all clear, if everything goes to plan.  Yay Accutane!  (Needless to say, my parents are on board, and see the potential benefits of this medication.  The doctor’s visit really helped assuage their concerns, and mine as well)

This iPledge program really is a hassle.  You have to present your iPledge Patient ID Card whenever you get a prescription filled.  They check the database to make sure the doctor has entered in that I’ve been in for a visit within the last 30 days and stuff.  It’s a good program though, I’m sure it’s prevented many birth defects, so who can complain.  Not that I’m going to get pregnant at any time, but that’s okay, they wouldn’t want to be sexist.

The people at CVS were very nice.  I brought the prescription to the pharmacist in the morning, and she didn’t seem familiar at all with the iPledge program, saying that she had never heard of it. But when I picked it up, after some searching on their part, they found the prescription, asked me for my ID card, and gave me the prescription.  Thank god for good insurance, I paid just $10 for the medication that was originally $293!

Please leave any questions you have about the process of getting treatment in the comments and I’ll give advice from the perspective of a patient as best as I can. Every week I’ll upload another set of pictures, as previously mentioned. I’ll also give a summary of my current symptoms and how I’m feeling overall as often as possible, maybe even daily.  Stay Tuned!


Subscribe to stuff:

Archive

August 2009
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031